May I Have Your Attention

Woodpeckers are amazing. Their brains have been designed for incessant pecking, using an uber-strong skull that actually saves them from brain injury. These birds are literally hard-headed.

Which brings me to the topic of whining and interrupting. After considering the woodpecker, I’m now convinced that small humans share the same modus operandi.

For instance, while I’m talking to my 6-year-old daughter, my 3-year-old son has a habit of repeating one question to me, increasing his speed in asking the question until it basically sounds like a flatline in the background of my conversation with my 6-year-old.

My daughter, on the other hand, has decided that the choice time for her interruptions is during small crises. Brother falls, lip is busted open, sister sees brother and tries to hug him, and before addressing blood loss, asks where her favorite leggings are. Meanwhile, mom is deciphering during toddler screams how to care for hurt child and wondering if daughter is in the same room in front of the same blood loss.

Don’t fret parenting-book fans, I do believe in training my children as well as using them for a good laugh. Many of the moments of kid-interruption are addressed by instruction to them about what to do if they’d like to speak to someone who is in the middle of a conversation. I also mention that their level of interrogation will only take them as far as a career in journalism, when they’ve outgrown their wings as a Woodpecker of course.

Leave a Reply

